79 Comments
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I initially thought that, 'yes, I see an address and I use an address tag', but that seemed too easy. The page says it contains contact information for employees...which is not the same thing as a website organization or author of an article. So, I would not use the address tag here after all. Very tricky!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

At first I was leaning towards yes and made the changes in the code pen. After thinking about it further, it doesn't seem really needed for a contact page for employees. This information will not be used to contact the website organization or the article author as stated in the lesson for the use of the <address> tag. If address information was included at the bottom of a webpage as we saw in the NASA fact sheet example, then definitely yes.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I'm of the view that the address element should be used on the page but not everywhere in the page.

According to MDN, address element is used to provide contact information for a person(individual, group or organization) , as seen in the given page it's quite obvious that the employees contact information includes social media link, contact person's name and so forth to which the contact information refers.

Below is the saved pen code

https://codepen.io/Solobachi/pen/JjEWOJN

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I think it's ok to use the <address> in this case. I think it may make the information on the page more clear. I tried it out and it seemed to go alright.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

At first I was thinking yes, but then after putting it into code pen and thinking about it, I decided it wasn't necessary. As many have already stated in this discussion, I agree that it is not being used to contact the website organization or authors so it is not needed in this case.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I'm going to say no, the address element should not be used in this case, as the addresses are for employees, not authors of an article, nor the website organization itself.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee
Apr 19, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

The three references offer conflicting advice about address:

- MDN says »it can now be used to mark up arbitrary addresses.«

- W3C says »contact information for a person, people or organization«

- WHATWG says »contact information for its nearest article or body element ancestor«

The example shows a page with contact information for team members. So following MDN and W3C we could use address, following WHATWG we should not.

In my CodePen I followed MDN/W3C and used <address> 😉

https://codepen.io/pmmueller/pen/oNBPPeG

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

There is need for the use of an <address> element on the page.

https://codepen.io/Solobachi/pen/MWJpEzd

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I think we should use address element on this page. Although the paragraph element and the break function can make information looks good. However, address tag makes everything better. And it can distinguishes every part of the information more clear. Therefore, I think we should use address element. As for me, I get 8/8 in the quiz.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I admit I looked through here first to get some feel for whether my instincts were right...but I felt using the <address> tag here wasn't a good fit, since it was a contact page for employees versus providing contact information for the website's author / organization. Also I was very excited to get 8 / 8 on my quiz; I'm totally a nerd who loves good grades. ;)

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

My initial question was do I need two different <address>, one for each employee? After reading other people's comments here, I agree that they should be left in <p> (or in a definition list).

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I would say "YES" and "NO", this question is very tricky. I don't think we need the address element in most cases, but for this particular case we can still address if it is syntax function. like "=address()" if I am not wrong here. Honestly it depends on the argument.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

The problem statement clearly states that "this is a contact page listing contact info. for all of the organisations employees." And according to today's lesson that we have learnt, <address> </address> tag is mostly used to give the contact information of page author, or the organisations address. Hence, I mostly prefer not to add the <address></address> tag for the employees information.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I'm leaning towards leaving it as it is and going with not addresses in this case due it being employee addresses not the site owner as some others have already said :)

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

I tend not to use an address element here, because an employee on a list isn’t (necessarily) writing articles on or maintaining/owning the website.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee

After seeing tons of comment, I try going back to the page going through this:

(Kinds of addresses

✅ Any information that's used to contact the website organization or the article author is fair game. That might include:

email addresses

social media links

phone numbers

The contact person's name may also be included in an address element.

⛔️ However, non-contact information is to be avoided.)

Then I realized that there no point using the address tag since the website doesn't belong to the employees.

Expand full comment

It seems intuitive to use the address element here but I wasn't sure whether to switch the <p> tag for an <address> or keep it. I switched it then noticed how the addresses had no space between them, put a <br> tag for the space ... then thought, no! (<br> tag between address lines only) and put the <p> tag back inside the <address>. Nicely spaced again. Phew! Thinking about HTML :D

So glad this is on demand so I can work through at tortoise speed and it really sinks in.

https://codepen.io/gipsi/pen/ZEeoBRB

Expand full comment
May 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer
Apr 7, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I would not use the address tag here because you don't need to put an address tag with contact information. However, you would need to put it if it was the author of the article.

Expand full comment
Apr 7, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I added one address tag and added a break in between the two addresses.

https://codepen.io/kadie7/pen/NWdadzy

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I have put address tag x2 for both employees.

Yes they are employees, yet isn't address an address afterall ?

Thus isn't that semantically correct ?

AFAIK it is not like we are making their addresses "public" by putting the address tag around 'em, as pretty much without the tag everyone can see them anyway.

So to me it seems it only makes it better semanticaly wise.

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

as per WHATWG we have to use <p> tag for postal address. so according to me we have to use <p> tag for the wrapping address, and there address are not related to a company, etc.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I believe that the address tag should be used in this instance ! https://codepen.io/steph_pujols/pen/WNRpdzR

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I was unsure at first if it should be used in this instance but decided on yes! There was a link to Twitter and having the tag made it more clear that it was a link.

here is my codepen:

https://codepen.io/laucrisw/pen/LYxWKej

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

Initially, I thought yes and used the address as part of the code but after sitting with it for a while and understanding that the contents of the address contains belongs to the author of the page or organisation and these names belonged to employees, it didn't make sense to put the address element there.

P.s. Thanks for this, it's got me thinking

Expand full comment

After reading MDN, the HTML living standard, and doing a bit of research, I decided to add the <address> element. If I went to MDN (Which is my normal go-to reference), I would see that the <address> element "can now be used to mark up arbitrary addresses". I know the living standards seem to be particular the use of <address>, but the section title is conveying there is contact information. This seems like a fair case to use it.

https://codepen.io/adamabundis/details/dyNvKMP

Expand full comment
deletedApr 1, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer, Erika Lee
Comment deleted
Expand full comment