12 Comments

https://codepen.io/romola/pen/qBrVZeO?editors=1100

This has one issue I haven't resolved. I want the Search link to be spaced to the end of the list it is in, but its special case causes it to fail to change to column style when the width is narrowed. I am not sure how to deal with that. I am also not sure I should not have used sections anywhere. In addition, I know my use of links to <dfn> for some of the *'d notes is far from perfect. I would like to correct the Search link placement but not sure what to do. I got the responsive flex list working by copying the csstricks trick. I should cite that.

Expand full comment
author

If you want the search button to align left with everything else at mobile dimensions, inside of your media query, add this:

.push-right {

align-self: flex-start;

}

That will push the search button to the left, in alignment with everything else.

Looks great!!!

Expand full comment
May 22, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer
author

Your markup looks great! 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 Do consider your heading levels here. Ingredients, Instructions, and Notes might all be the same level (probably <h3>). That means within notes, for Freezing Instructions, Tools, Chocolate, and Eggs, these might be <h4> headings. For tools, you might consider an unordered list, or you could leave it as a paragraph. Nav bars look great. Thanks for sharing!

Expand full comment
May 23, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

I am so thankful for your time😊😊

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer
author

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 Wow!!! Fantastic work with the styling and the markup -- looks great and it's very semantic! Love the details/summary elements for the notes and your styling for the description list. Great work!

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

https://codepen.io/jarchaff/pen/wvgNGOb?editors=1000

I moved a few things around but the content is the same, and I included comments in my HTML this time :)

Expand full comment
author

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 Awesome -- everything looks really good! A couple of quick things:

- don't forget to close your first header

- your social media links might be in an <address> (remember that, so long ago!)

- Love your headers, great job with this!!!

Expand full comment
Apr 20, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer

https://codepen.io/laucrisw/pen/GRrYyaw?editors=1000 I think some of the other elements of this challenge were difficult but I was able to use the header and footer in the way that I saw best fit so this was helpful for putting this into practice :)

Expand full comment
author

Great! I'm so glad you found this helpful. Now that you've seen today's post about headings, why don't you revisit this with that in mind. As you look at what's here, think about:

- what is the title of the page?

- what might be navigation? (there aren't any links so you may need to imagine them...)

- and you may want to look at the CodePen example that has something similar to this marked up: https://codepen.io/erika4web/pen/rNjqBjG?editors=1100

Thanks for sharing in public -- it's always great to get feedback, and you are off to a great start with this!

Expand full comment
deletedApr 20, 2021Liked by Jen Kramer
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 woo woo!!!! Very nicely done -- love all of your comments. Great job thinking through the problem and defending your choices!

Expand full comment